I have limited experience with Object Oriented coding but not programming in general.
Here is a stripped down version of my code. What I'm trying to do is set a variable declared in 'CProjectView::Handler' using a function in 'CtestClass'. Simple enough! but not for me.

In the code as shown, testClass.cpp compiles with no errors, but projectView complains about a 'non-static' function. So I add 'static' to the function in testClass.h. Now testClass.cpp complains about a 'non-static' variable. So I add 'static' to the variable.

Bingo! Everything compiles without error.
BUT now when I try to 'link' this lot, I get an "unresolved external symbol...." error.

What am I doing wrong?

//// projectView.h
class CProjectView : public CView {
protected:
  CProjectView();
public:
  void Handler();
};
//// projectView.cpp
CProjectView::CProjectView() {  // constructor
}
void CProjectView::Handler() {
  int viewData;  // trying to set this value.
  if (CTestClass::aFunction(&viewdata)) {
  } else { ... }
}

//// testClass.h
class CTestClass {
public:
  CTestClass()
  bool aFunction(int*);
private:
  int varB;
};
//// testClass.cpp
CTestClass::CTestClass() {  // constructor
  varB = 555;
}
void CTestClass::aFunction(int *testdata) {
  *testdata = anotherFunction(varB);
}

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

This is normal c++ stuff and has nothing at all to do with MFC, other than MFC is also c++. When you put static keyword in the .h file that is making it global with the namespace of the class in which it is defined. So your compiler is producing unresolved error because you didn't actually create an object of that static variable.

you didn't say what variable you made static, so I'll just assume it is named "var". Put this at (or near) the top of the implementation file (*.cpp) -- outside any function, just like you would any other global variable.

CProjectView::var = 0;

I probably did not explain that right...