I'm just starting to learn C++ and I need some help. I need to be able to read in a text file and pull out numbers from the file (like a news story, etc). I will need to be able to do other checks with the numbers as well, I'm just looking for a starting point right now. Just want to make sure that I have an idea of how to proceed.

I will need to open the file
Then read the file line by line with getLine
But I am not sure how to find just the digits and extract them...

I know this is probably a very simple question, but thank you for any help!

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

//Nov 19,2010
//This lab does some leftover string stuff and introduces the concept of writing to and reading from data files.
#include<iostream>
#include <string>
#include<fstream>
using namespace std;
int main (void)
{
	//Brif intro to string class
	string name;
	name = "Jrussell";
	cout << name << endl;
	cout << "The length of name is " << name.length() <<".\n";

//reading from a data file
	ifstream inFile; //infile = cin
	inFile.open("C:\\Users\\Desktop\\names.txt");

if(inFile.fail()){
		cout<<"OMG-it didn't open! WTF?" << endl;
		exit(1);
	}
	int numNames = 0;
	while (!(inFile.eof())){
	inFile >> name;
	cout << name << endl;
	numNames++;
	}
	inFile.clear();
	inFile.close();
	inFile.open("C:\\Users\\Desktop\\names.txt");

int index;
	string* namePtr = new string[numNames];
	for(index = 0; index < numNames; index++)
		inFile >> namePtr[index];

ofstream outFile("C:\\Users\\Desktop\\newnames.txt");
	if (outFile.fail()){
		cout << "Error opening" << endl;
		exit(1);
	}
	for (index = 0; index < numNames; index ++){
		outFile << "Name# " << index+1 << "is: ";
		outFile << namePtr[index] << ".\n";
	}
	outFile.close();
}

so here this program reads the name from file on desktop! u need to include the file path as u see here! and u can do bunch of stuff with it! hope this helps!

and if u copy paste this prog and run it without file on specified location it will show the error message...