(I am a beginner, please don't be mean if I make any serious mistakes.) :sad:
The purpose of this program is to cout the largest and the second largest number among 10 numbers. Although I have thought for serveral times, I still don't get what is the problem.

#include<iostream>
using std::cin;
using std::cout;
using std::endl;

int main()
{
    int counter=1;
    int number;
    int max;
    int secondmax;
    int few;//number of times the max. number appears
    int secondfew;//number of times the second max. number appears

cout<<"Enter a number= ";
    cin>>number;
    max=number;
    secondmax=number;    
    while(counter<10)
    {
       cout<<"Enter a number= ";
       cin>>number;
       if(number>max)
       {
          secondmax=max;           
          max=number;
          few=1;
       }
       else if(number==max)
       {
          few++;          
       }

if(number>secondmax&&secondmax<max)
       {
          secondmax=number;
          secondfew=1;
       }
       else if(number==secondmax&&secondmax<max)
       {
          secondfew++;
       }
       counter++;
    }
    cout<<"There are "<<few<<" person(s) with the maximum number of "<<max<<"."<<endl;
    cout<<"There are "<<secondfew<<" person(s) with the second maximum number of "<<secondmax<<"."<<endl;
    system("pause");
    return 0;
}

If any of you know what is the problem, please give me a hand. Thank you very much.

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

Here's an idea,

Try creating an array of ints. Then sort them into ascending order.

Then use a pointer to print out the last two elements. but u need 2 check 4 repeats

Job done???

God bless

Thanks, but I forgotton to mention that only the basis are allowed.(Not including the array and pointer). Sorry about my mistake,but thanks for your method.

int largest=0;
int second_largest=0;
for(int i=0; i<10; i++)
{
int num;
cin>>num;
if(num>largest)
{
largest=num;
}
else if(sum condition here)
{