Greetings,

Originally, I graduated from college with a Computer Programmer degree; later I went on to university to pursue a bachelors in computer science. Unfortunately, when I had completed my studies, the requirement for that type of knowledge in my area had gone from great to almost nil. We coders were a dime a dozen. As it turns out, I was unable to find employment, slowly stopped writing code and eventually sought alternate employment.

The long and short of it is: I'm now an electrician and haven't written a single line of code in what is getting close to 10 years.

But I now suddenly feel the need to code again. I miss it. Recently, while playing a game (which will remain unnamed for now) I decided that with the help of a well written applet, I could improve my use of the game's player based market or Auction house.

Having played WoW and other MMOs and seen what people have done with the LUA that was made available to them, I was witness to some great add-ons, such as Autioneer and Auctionator for WoW. (Naming those ones specifically seems best since WoW had or has the largest player base)

Anyway. I'd like to create a similar program for this game I am playing. The auction for the game itself can actually be accessed over the web. And from what I can tell, they use javascript.

What I would like to do is create a program capable of acquiring information from this site. Loading into a database, then sorting it in ways that I deem necessary. Such as finding a median, or items being undersold for too cheap, etc. Basically something to help me find good things for cheap, or to help keep myself from being cornered out of a market that I am trying to dominate.