i'm new to this c programming. all i wanna do is to make the user to enter the number of student, then input the name and address of the student. later i want it to print the name and the address. the program crashes after i input all the name and the address.
i don't know whether this program is wrong or my pc problem. thank you :) oh btw, i need to use array for this program.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <conio.h>

void main ()
{
	int i, n;
	char name[30][30];
	char add[30][30];

printf ("Enter the number of student >> ");
	scanf ("%d", &n);

for (i = 0;i < n; i++)
	{
		printf ("Enter the name of student %d >> ", i+1);
		scanf ("%s", &name[i][30]);
		printf ("Enter the address of student %d >> ", i+1);
		scanf ("%s", &add[i][30]);
	}

for (i = 0; i < n; i++)
	{
		printf ("The name of student %d is >> %s", i+1, name[i][30]);
		printf ("The address of student %d >> %s", i+1, add[i][30]);
	}

printf ("\n");
}
Ancient Dragon commented: used code tags correctly on first post :) +17
D33wakar commented: welcome to Daniweb +4

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

lines 16 and 18 are wrong, you are passing a pointer to a single character not the whole string. Here's how to code it scanf ("%s", name[i]);

In addition,
You can remove this line

#include <conio.h> //non- standard library,also not portable

'main' should always return int, like this:

int main(void)

and return statement at the end.

return 0;

add

fflush(stdout);

after the printf statements,by doing that you'll force the output to be displayed on the screen even if the output buffer is not full.
And finally don't use 'scanf' while taking string inputs,use 'fgets' instead:

fgets(name[i],sizeof(name[i]),stdin);

If you use fgets() you will also have to remove the terminating '\n' that fgets() will add to the end of the string, assuming there was enough room in the buffer to hold it.

if( name[i][strlen(name[i])] == '\n')
  name[i][strlen(name[i])] = '\0';

or you can do it like this

char* ptr;