hey Guys,
im creating a clas that is to be used in a HashMap to map phone numbers to name.
for example : map.put( new PhoneNumber(207, 8269600, 260), “Paul”);

public final class PhoneNumber {
private final int areaCode;
private final int number;
private final int extension;

public PhoneNumber(int areaCode, int number, int extension){
this.areaCode = areaCode;
this.number = number;
this.extension = extension;
}

public int getAreaCode(){
return areaCode;
}
public int getNumber(){
return number;
}
public int getExtension(){
return extension;
}
}

what i need is that when i later want to retrieve the corresponding name like :

map.get(new PhoneNumber(207, 8269600, 260));

it should return the String “Paul”.

What i need is a methods that would enable the name to be correctly and efficiently retrieved from the map when a newly constructed PhoneNumber object is used?

please help i need this urgently and i have no experience with hash maps and not enough time to learn them
any help will hep

thank you

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I guess you may have to use an overloaded hashcode method for this to work. I'm not quite sure though. May be the more experienced people can help you out.

I have a few questions out of curiosity :

1. Can it not be the other way around ? You give the name, you get the object and then the phone number. Because that seems more ideal to me.
2. Do you keep these objects or do you know the values of all these objects that you are putting into the map ? Cos retrieval according to me will be impossible without knowing value or keeping the object.

to answer your first question , is no, because there can be many same names however the number is unique.
the values could be kept in a database but for know i am just using values that i know of for testing purposes

thanks for you help

I guess you can write your own hashcode method to use your variables to obtain a unique number. This may work.

public int hashCode() {