this is my first year of c++ and i am really confused on functions. if someone could help me with one of my examples to get me on the right track i would really appreciate it.

1. using void printMenu().....i dont understand how to set it up
2. using isEven(int, int).......for this one i need to take in two integers, add them together and print back if the number are even.

thank you

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

What code do you have so far?

well this is my menu:
cout << "'A' Find if the sum of the two integers entered is even or odd.\n";
cout << "'B' Finds if the number entered is prime.\n";
cout << "'C' Finds the sum between two integers.\n";
cout << "'D' Asks for a year and tells if it is a leap year.\n";
cout << "'E' Displays the menu.\n";
cout << "'Q' Quits the program.\n";
cout << "Please enter a command or a type";
cin >> choice;

i dont understand how to use the printMenu function and i dont get how to set it up

A menu is often a set of choices, like enter + to add 2 numbers , enter * multiple 2 numbers, etc. printMenu() would print out all the options you want the user to have. If your instructor has given you a specific menu to construct, use it. If not, create your own.

void isEven(int, int);

is a function declaration. when the program is compiled it tells the software doing the work that every time you call the function you must send two ints to the function and the function doesn't need to return anything. The function declaration doesn't tell the compiling software what to do within the function, however. That's done inthe function definition. The first line of a function definition

void isEven(int first, int second)
{
}

looks somewhat like a function declaration except that the variables being sent to the function must be named and there is no semicolon at the end of the line. The function body goes within the curly cues and tells the function what to do with first and second.