Hi all,

Here is a short summary of my piece of code.

double availableUnits       = calculateAvailableUnits(some arguments);
int    minimumRequiredUnits = getMinimumRequiredUnits(some arguments);

std::cout<<"minimumRequiredUnits = "<<minimumRequiredUnits<<std::endl; //prints 30
std::cout<<"availableUnits = "<<availableUnits<<std::endl; //prints 30

if (availableUnits < minimumRequiredUnits)
{
    //throw exception;
}
//rest of the code

Even though both variables have the value 30 in it, the if-condition gets satisfied and exception is thrown, which is wrong. I studied the problem a little more and found that the double variable availableUnits infact doesn't contain 30, instead it contains 29.9999. Is there any way I can get rid of this problem? Also, I cannot use ceil() as this would affect the functionality.

calculateAvailableUnits() function does some calculation which involves fractions, so the result 29.9999 instead of 30.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Maybe calculateAvailableUnits() need to round the return value to 2 or 3 decimal places so that it will return 30.00. The problem you are describing in the comparisons will most likely show its ugly head up in other places in your program too.

>>Even though both variables have the value 30 in it, the if-condition gets satisfied and exception is thrown

The int gets promoted and you are now doing a floating comparison. When doing floating comparison, as of right now you can do a simple range comparison :

//checks if lhs is equal to rhs given an epsilon
//that is returns true if lhs \in (rhs-epsilon,rhs+epsilon)
bool isEqual(const double lhs, const double rhs, const double epsilon = 0.0001){
  return lhs > rhs - epsilon && lhs < rhs + epsilon ;
}