Okay, I am still trying to get used to C++ since I mostly write in Java. I am also new with the two constructor thing mentioned in detail below.

Here, I am investigating on writing a class with two constructor. That is, I have heard that you are allowed to write a class with a constructor and another constructor which is basically the same but has more parameters in it.

eg. First constructor might be add()
Second constructor might be add(int x, int y)

How will I go about getting both to work correctly depending on which to use? I know that constructors go into the .h file so I tried putting them on back to back lines. I tried searching online to see am I on the right track but there was not the result I was looking for.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Yes, you're on the right track.
Just write it and you'll see.

I tried and when I write the function for the class, it produces problems with the second constructor. I think this stems to the fact that the function does not specify exactly which constructor to use, and it shouldn't anyways. So how do I eliminate this problem? Sorry for being too vague.

well Limiter,

compiler knows which constructor to use by the number of arguments you specify at the time of creating a new object of that class. suppose you wrote the class with name "add" (as apparent from your chosen constructor name) and now you want to create two objects of this class, "obj1" and "obj2" using first and second constructors respectively then you would create these objects as follows:

add obj1; //object created using parameter less constructor
add obj2(3, 5)// object created using two parameter constructor

Now if this is not exactly what you are trying (and subsequently failing) to do then please paste all the code from all files of your program so that we can look at it more closely and better understand your problem. You may also be getting some syntax error.

Minor comment to the above. You said