I'm new to C++, and I've been picking it up really well, but when it came to making my own function, I hit a problem. I've looked and I cant find the problem, its probably something really stupid but I cant find it. Heres the code, its really simple.
I'll put the code in bold.
From the top:

# include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{

cout << "Hello!\n";

testFunction ();

cout << "Your back!\n";

char f;
    cin >> f;
    return 0;
}

void testFunction ()
{
    cout << "Hello 2!\n";
}

I know its really simple but I dont see the problem with that. I read all through my C++ book and I found nothing that could help and I copied the code exactly. Also, the tutorials on youtube that I use on the side had exactly the same code.

The compiler I'm using is Dev-C++ 4.9.9.2. All I done was click the empty file icon and wrote the code, and I havent altered the settings on the comiler, its all default.
If anyone can help it would be very much appreciated. :confused:

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hey =)

It's kind of right, the only problem is that the function is declared after the main and when it's read in main, it doesn't know yet that the function exists. Two solutions:

Put the function before main:

# include <iostream>
using namespace std;

void testFunction ()
{
    cout << "Hello 2!\n";
}

int main()
{

cout << "Hello!\n";

testFunction ();

cout << "Your back!\n";

char f;
    cin >> f;
    return 0;
}

Or, create a prototype of the function:

# include <iostream>
using namespace std;

void testFunction();

int main()
{

cout << "Hello!\n";

testFunction ();

cout << "Your back!\n";

char f;
    cin >> f;
    return 0;
}

void testFunction()
{
    cout << "Hello 2!\n";
}

Hope that helped :)