gets(test);

x = strlen(test);

for(i=0;i<=x-1;i++)
         {
                   if(test[i]!=' ')
         {
         cout<<test[i]<<endl;
         }          
        if (test[i]=='a' || test[i]=='e' || test[i]=='i' || test[i]=='o' || test[i]=='u' || test[i]=='A' || test[i]=='E' || test[i]=='I' || test[i]=='O' || test[i]=='U') {
            test[i]=' ';

}
         }

cout<<"remove spaces % vowels =" << test << endl;

system("pause");
         return 0;

}

Hi guys,
I'm new here to Daniweb, I'm also new to the world of programming and hopefully you can help me out with some good pointers and advice. I've started the program to enter a string or sentence and remove the spaces. next i wanted to remove the vowels which i found ok. but my problem is removing vowels and spaces at once. cheers guys and gals.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

If you are writing a c++ program why are you using c's gets() function instead of c++ cin or getline()?

>>if (test=='a' || test=='e' || test=='i' || test=='o' || test=='u' || test=='A' || test=='E' || test=='I' || test=='O' || test=='U') {
test=' ';

Probably easier to use a switch statement

switch( tolower(test[i]) )
{
   case 'a': case 'e': case 'i': case 'o': case 'u': case ' ': case '\t':
       // do somethking
       break;
}

Cheers for the input, why I'm using gets()is to call my string(sentence) for example " I want to go to the shop" it calls the full sentence.
cin>> only will call "I" one character from the whole sentence, this is why i use the gets() function. never used getline() before not sure about this. also guys my problem with the above program is after i remove vowels from string how to remove the spaces from the string were the vowels were i hope this explains better than before. Thanks again..