I am fairly new to C++ programming and have been working on an assignment for my C++ class that involves writing a dice rolling program (rolls 2 dice). The program is to get a random seed number and a desired number of rolls from the user, keep track of the rolls of each point value, and then display actual and expected percentages and number of rolls for each point value. We are also to use functions to complete this program.

I am having trouble with a couple of things: first, using a function and/or loop to keep track of rolls to display them at the end of the program. I think I should use a static int variable but I am not sure how to initiate this using functions (which function to put the variable in?).

Secondly, I am having difficulty with using a loop to display the final results. Since the expected value is different for each point value, I can't use a constant to do the calculation.... not sure how else to do this (currently I just have some variables I've put in for filler to help me see how the output will look like when it's done).

Also, I can't figure out how to pass the value of repetitions to the ShowValue function without using it as a global variable... I have tried looking this up (call by value/reference) but seem to be having difficulty transferring the concepts to my own code.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Here is my code so far:

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>

using namespace std;

// function prototypes
void DisplayHeader();
void ShowOutputHeader();
void ShowValue(int);
void NumberGenerator(static int);

// GLOBAL VARIABLE to carry over to calculations
// in multiple functions
int repetitions;

int main()
{
	// array to hold point values
	int pointValue[11] = { 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 };

// seed is PRN & first is user selected.

// function calls to display what the program does and
	// to call the PRNG calculations
	static int countRolls;
	countRolls++;

DisplayHeader();
	NumberGenerator(countRolls);