Hi everybody,

I'm new in programming. Getting started with C. Im trying to do a few easy things like to uppercase a string.

But i got stuck...

This is what i have so far:

void toupper( char *text )
{
     char c[] = "testING"; 

}

And im not sure if this is good..

Can somebody help me with this function please?

Thnx in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

iterate through each character of the string and use the macro toupper() found in ctype.h to convert the characters to upper case.

char c = 'a';
c = toupper(c);
// now c will == 'A'

Thank you for your reply Ancient Dragon's!

This was what i was looking for:

void convertToUpperCase(char *sPtr)
{
      while(*sPtr != '\0')
      {
         if (islower(*sPtr))
              *sPtr = toupper(*sPtr);
       }
}

Got it working now :D

if (islower(*sPtr))
  *sPtr = toupper(*sPtr);

There's no need for islower because toupper will convert the character as requested, or do nothing if there's no conversion or if the character is already upper case. In other words, toupper "just does the right thing". However, because your function can't guarantee that *sPtr is within the range that toupper expects (an integer in the range of an unsigned char), you should cast it to unsigned char before passing it to toupper:

{
  while(*sPtr != '\0')
    *sPtr = toupper((unsigned char)*sPtr);
}
if (islower(*sPtr))
  *sPtr = toupper(*sPtr);

However, because your function can't guarantee that *sPtr is within the range that toupper expects (an integer in the range of an unsigned char), you should cast it to unsigned char before passing it to toupper:

{
  while(*sPtr != '\0')
    *sPtr = toupper((unsigned char)*sPtr);
}

What do you mean by "your function can't guarantee that *sPtr is within the range that toupper expects (an integer in the range of an unsigned char)" ?

I didn't use any int's. Im a newbie in programming so bare with me please, but im willing and motivated to learn it.

So could you explain that please?