hello,
I want to make a program that enables me to read data from my 4-CH usb 2.0 DVR. any one to help me do that?
thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I assume this post relate to your other Daniweb post.

So, can you provide the manufacturer's name of this 4 channel usb 2.0 DVR? Also, is a SDK kit provided and do you have any technical specs for this hardware?

AFAIK, very few DVR manufacturer's open up their hardware by providing SDK's. The only two that I'm aware of are Dahua and Axis. The Dahua brand is not sold in North America under that name. The Dahua line is usually rebranded as Qvis, Mace or some other brand name. Keep in mind that these are quality stand alone DVR's near the high end of the market.

I'm currently developing a Net app to interface with Zoneminder which is a open source Linux DVR system. You may want to look at Zoneminder as a possible option.

the manufacturer is Easypac and I had nothing like SDK kit or hardware specs .It is my first time to deal with such problems. If this DVR is not suitable I can buy a one that corresponds to my needs. what I really need is to develop an alarm system when the alarm is triggered I need the DVR to record and then I need to manage these recordings in my program. I have no idea if I need to make a database or if there are DVR that comes with embeded database. please can u help?

I would strongly suggest not attempting to develop your application with Easypac since there isn't any SDK/techDos and/or support. Capturing a video stream from a DVR to your application is very challenging with good support such as documentation/forums etc. Without support, it will nothing short of a nightmare.