First I am new to C#. I attempting to build a simple windows form where you can send textbox info to an access database on the machine. When viewing online tutorials and book, I notice their is a step, form missing from my Visual Studio 2010 program when I try to add an exsisting database.

Here is what I am doing...
Add New Data Source
Database
Dataset
New Connection
Choose Data Source>Microsoft Access Database File>"Continue"

This takes me straight to form "Add Connection" with Data Source Selected
and under that "Connection String". The "Advanced" button is greyed out.

In online tutorials and book, it appears I should have an "add connection" form with a browse button for selecting a "Database file name." and a "Log on to the database" group, but this is missing?

Any help would be appreciated.

I have also attempted to repair the installation in case soemthing was wrong.

On a side note, I can complete this action using VS express from another cpu.

Thanks

Update: I installed Visual Studio Express c# on this machine (one with problem) and other cpu. Other cpu works fine with no issue. This machine still skips the one step?

Any help out there?

Hi. I've never had trouble with Visual Studio locally. But when I moved the files to my server hosted in Chicago I had all kinds of trouble. So I may be able to help since I ended up with 3 servers lol. I know what I'm doing now, I think, check [snipped] to see that I did get it up and running. But I ended up hand coding it and didn't use controls. I just used command object and handled the ADO objects and connection string myself.

I just loaded Visual Studio and I chose bindingsource object. Then it the properties for that object I chose data source and then in the popup menu a blue link at the bottom called Add project data source. Inside here you set up the dataset and connection like I think you did.