while (HullShipA > 0 && HullShipB > 0 && HullShipC > 0)
 {
 // do whatever i wanna do
 }
 Console.Writeline("End Game");

So i'm kinda new to c# but here is the deal:
In this simulation, ships attack eachother for damage and the way it is, as soon as 1 ship gets destroyed the game ends.
How could I make it so the game only ends with one ship left (therefore becomming the winner)?
Also, I set the whole thing so ship A attacks B that Attacks C that attacks A and so on.
If a wanted to make A attack C after B dies, would I have to add some if's here and there or is there a more simple solution?

Thanks in advance!!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

For the while loop simply put in an integer that holds the number of ships still alive (3,2 or 1). While (shipsAlive >) 1 {} will keep your game looping and you simply decrease the number by one when a ship is destroyed.
For the targets, add variables that indicate which target each ship is targeting then, when B is destroyed, set the A variable to indicate ship C. So, in essence, A isn't attacking ship B then C it is always attacking A_target but that changes during the game. Does that make sense?

just tried it and it worked.... like a professor i had said once after I asked how to do something:
Use logic....

thanks

In this case, replacing the &&s with ||s (i.e. "keep running while at least one of the HullShip variables is greater than 0) would have worked too.

Just a small followup question:
I didn't have much time to think of this but I made it so when a ship's hull gets to 0 or less ShipsAlive = ShipsAlive - 1 to make it so the game ends when only 1 ship is left.
But after the loop ends how do I tell the winning ship in a message?
I can make something like Console.WriteLine("The winning ship is {0}", winningship);
but how do I tell winningship wich one it should be (i know it should be the one with hull > 0 at that given point of time) but i'm unaware of how to do it.