Recently bought "Regular Expressions Cookbook 2nd ed." and wanted to share my findings.

The book is divided into two parts. The first part (3 chapters) describes tools, skills and programming. The tools chapter shows you what's out there (including his own software). The skills chapter is a tutorial. It describes the parts of a regex, but just that. Although there are samples, it is regex only. No source code samples are provided here. Personally I think it may be too hard or theoretical for absolute beginners. The programming chapter shows you how to implement regexes in various languages. To be precise, the book uses .NET (C# and VB.NET), Java, JavaScript (XRegExp), PHP (PCRE), Perl, Python and Ruby.

The second part of the book (6 chapters) is the cookbook part. Every chapter shows several commonly used problems/solutions. The chapters are "Validation and Formatting", "Words, Lines and Special Characters", "Numbers", "Source Code and Log Files", "URLs and Paths" and "Markup and Data Formats". In all it shows how to use 140 regexes.

Each chapter tackles one specific task, for example "Validate Credit Card Number". The chapter starts with the problem description, followed by the solution. The solution can be extensive, depending on whether flavour specific constructs are used in that instance. After that is a discussion part, describing more about the issue, making everything clear. Sometimes a variations part is added, to show you how to add additional information to the initial problem. Finally, a see also section points you to similar/relative solutions in the book.