Hi I am new to C++ and I just need some advice on declaring dynamic arrays.

Take for example this code block:
int a=0;
cout << "Enter Arr size: ";
cin >> a;
int arr[a];

My compiler gives no error doing this but looking around the web I see many articles saying I should be using the new and delete commands to allocate arrays dynamically. My main question is if this is ok to do? Or will I run into problems in the future.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Contributors
Replies
Views
4 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by Kamina00

Also have another question not sure how to edit previous post.

Anyway I was looking at this link http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/stl/array/size/
and when I use the same sample code as the one provided I get this error:

array' is not a member ofstd'

I have tried to remove the std:: before and the error is then:

`array' undeclared (first use this function)

Is there an issue with #include <array>? I am not really sure what is wrong here.

EDIT: Nevermind ignore this question I figured out that I don't even have array.h in my libraries thats the issue.

Edited by Kamina00

My compiler gives no error doing this but looking around the web I see many articles saying I should be using the new and delete commands to allocate arrays dynamically. My main question is if this is ok to do? Or will I run into problems in the future.

Being able to declare an array based on an input value is new to C++ so it really depends on what compiler you are using and which ones you use in the future. Some have that capability now, others don't.

Being able to declare an array based on an input value is new to C++ so it really depends on what compiler you are using and which ones you use in the future. Some have that capability now, others don't.

Thank you.

I am using Dev-CPP 4.9.9.2 with GCC version 3.4.2-20040916-1.