Hey!

I'm brand new to programming in C and I am trying to practice coding by hand for my test tomorrow. I understand the basic concepts and I do have some experience in Java (not much) but I am horrible at coding by hand...

anyway I am doing my best but I can't be sure if this is how to add items to an array (it doesn't seem right to me anyway...) Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

/*program that takes in 20 int's and stores them in an array then prints them out at the end
*/

#include <stdio.h>

int main(){

int i;
    int arr[20];

for(i=0; i<20; i++){
        scanf("%d", arr[i]);
    }

{
    for(i=0; i<20; i++){
        printf("%d", arr[i]);
    }

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You need to modify this line to
scanf("%d", &arr[i]);
Note the &.

There is an extra open brace @ Line:15

What does the &arr[i] do? I think it has something to do with pointers but I don't understand pointers either so I'm just trying to get the basics...

What does the &arr[i] do? I think it has something to do with pointers but I don't understand pointers either so I'm just trying to get the basics...

You are (kind of) correct. '&' as a unary operator is used to obtain the memory address of a variable. For example, say you have the following declaration:

int number;

The type of 'number' is 'int'. The type of the following:

&number;

would be 'int *'. Which means "a pointer to an int" and you may interpret this as 'the memory address where "number" is stored'.

What is the use of it? Well, one use is that you needn't copy the value of number when passing it to a function. What's more important though is that is allows you to return multiple values from a function. For example:

void func (int val)
{
    val = 20;
}

int main(void)
{
    int a = 10;

func(a);

// a is still 10 when printed here, because it's passed "by value"
}

This is probably what you're used to. But if you work with pointers it would look like:

void func (int* val)
{
    (*val) = 20;
}