trying to do a 2D array of a square sorta shape, and want to display it in the format 1-12
in the order

1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12

im an absolute novice if you cant tell, just wondering how i go about this.trying to look and find tutorials as i go.
thanks

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

do you already know how to store values in a 2d 4x4 array?
the trick in printing is using a nested for loop that prints the contents using the first index as the counter for the first one and the second index for the second loop while printing a newline for every iteration of the first loop.

know i don't unfortunately, looking through examples etc. to help me out

#include<iostream>
#include<fstream>

using namespace std;

int input(istream& in=cin)
{
    int x;
    in >> x;
    return x;
}

int main()
{
    int board[3][4]; //creates a 9*9 matrix or a 2d array.

for(int i=0; i<3; i++)    //This loops on the rows.
    {
        for(int j=0; j<4; j++) //This loops on the columns
        {
            board[i][j] = input(); //you can also connect to the file
            //and place the name of your ifstream in the input after opening the file will
            //let you read from the file.
        }
    }

{
        {
            cout << board[i][j]  << "  ";
        }
        cout << endl;
    }
}

this is what ive done so far, but i have to create the matrix myself, as opposed gettinf to fill in from 1-12 in the format 1 2 3 4, underneath that 5 6 7 8 then 9 10 11 12. any help?

I'm not sure whether this is what you're after:

#include<iostream>
#include <iomanip>
//#include<fstream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int input = 1;
    int board[3][4];

{
        {
            board[i][j] = input; 
            input++;
        }
    }

{
        {
            cout << setw(2) << board[i][j]  << "  "; // setw(2) for alignment
        }
        cout << endl;
    }

cin.get();

return 0;
}

any helpers? thanks