Hi I recently started working with Java (this morning to be exact) and I'm running into some trouble. I'm trying to make a simple program that will put a deck of playing cards into an array, shuffle that array, then print the shuffled deck. My eventual goal is to make a fun little game of Texas Hold'em that the users of my website can play, but for now I'm just looking to get the cards shuffled.

My background is in C so I have written up this program in C if anyone wants to see kind of what I'm looking for in the program. I would like to be able to put this Java program up on my website (just to show my fellow staff members that I am making progress) so if you could write it out as an applet or point me to a good tutorial that will show me how to do that I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance!

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <time.h>

struct card {
  const char *face;
  const char *suit;
};

typedef struct card Card;

void fillDeck(Card * const wDeck, const char * wFace[], const char * wSuit[]);
void shuffle(Card *const wDeck);
void deal(const Card * const wDeck);

int main(void)
{
  Card deck[52];

const char *face[] = {"1", "2", "3", "4", "5", "6", "7", "8", "9", "10", "J", "Q", "K", "A"};
  const char *suit[] = {"Hearts", "Diamonds", "Clubs", "Spades"};

srand(time(NULL));

fillDeck(deck, face, suit);
  shuffle(deck);
  deal(deck);
  return 0;
}

void fillDeck(Card * const wDeck, const char * wFace[], const char * wSuit[])
{
  int i;
  for (i = 0; i <= 51; i++) {
    wDeck[i].face = wFace[i % 13];
    wDeck[i].suit = wSuit[i / 13];
  }
}

void shuffle(Card * const wDeck)
{
  int i, j;
  Card temp;

for(i = 0; i <= 51; i++) {
    j = rand() % 52;
    temp = wDeck[i];
    wDeck[i] = wDeck[j];
    wDeck[j] = temp;
  }
}

void deal(const Card * const wDeck)
{
  int i;

for (i = 0; i <= 51; i++) {
    printf("%5s of %-8s%s", wDeck[i].face, wDeck[i].suit, (i + 1) % 4 ? " " : "\n");
  }
}

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies