public static void printArray(int[] newArray){
        for(int i = 0; i < newArray.length; i++){
            System.out.print(newArray[i] + "   ");

}
    }

public static int[] eliminateDuplicate(int numbers[]){

int[] newArray= new int[numbers.length];
  for(int i = 0; i <numbers.length; i++ ){

for(int j = 0; j < newArray.length; j++ )
  {
  if(newArray[j] == numbers[i]) {
          break;
      }
  }
  newArray[newArray.length] = numbers[i];
  }
  return newArray;
  }

}

Hi everyone, i am new to java coding so bear with me haha. I need to create a program that takes in an arrary and checks it for duplicates, then returns the new array without any duplicates. I haveto use a method and i cannot use hashsets or anything like that. When i run the program it doesnt work and sometimes gives me errors. What i have so far is listed below. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!!!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

sometimes gives me errors

Please post the full text of the error messages.

What is the algorithm/design that you have for removing duplicates? Can you list the steps the program should take to find and remove duplicates? When you get a good algorithm, then work on coding it in java.

On line 49 you always add the new number at thelast+1 position in newArray. That's doubly wrong - each value will overwrite the previous one, except that the index value is invalid anyway. You could keep a variable that tracks how many numbers you have already added so that will tell you where to insert the next one...

Ps don't just say "gives errors", always post the complete text of any error messages because they contain essential info.

I just ran the code again and it didnt give me any errors but it still doesnt work correctly. What the program should do is, read in a set of numbers, then create and arry for it, then create another array to compare it against, then print out just the single numbers, not the duplicates.