Hi,
I've been learning c++ for a few months on a windows os. (Not using the API)
And im building a new computer soon. I will install Backtrack at first, then win if I need it.
My goal is to become a professional developer (I will most likely write code for pentesting and everything related to it) So... do you think should I continue to learn c++ on linux ? Or stick to windows ? I'll be writing portable code anyways. And what are good IDEs for linux/unix ? Or should I do it the old way with no ide ?
Im familiar to linux os, however i've never written code on a linux os.
Sorry for my english, im not a native speaker.
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Use an IDE that is available on both operating systems, such as Code::Blocks or QT. Actually you might want to learn both CB and QT as well as portable libraries such as wxWidgets and boost. Which you will need to learn depends on what company you work for. So I'd suggest you learn both of them.

Personally I use an IDE that runs on both Windows and Linux and provids a License key that works on both. Editrocket is the application name and it works with multiple languages and includes code snipites and what I have found to be many other great utilities. The price was within reason too.

Web site for Editrocket

commented: Interesting :) +14

So... do you think should I continue to learn c++ on linux ? Or stick to windows ? I'll be writing portable code anyways.