Hello
I am a student of computer science year 3 and am doing my project on a road design simulator. I should be able to design a road on a java interface and simulate it with cars. Does anyone have an idea about how should i proceed with it?

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

The most important part I think: 2D or 3D?

It is also important to know exactly what you want to simulate. When you say "road design" it makes me think you are talking about traffic flow, meaning that if you give the simulator a map of roads including road signs and the number of lanes for each road, and then give it the amount of traffic going from various sources to various destinations, it will tell you how quickly traffic is getting where it needs to go and where the bottlenecks are. If that is what you want, then you need to decide so and your first step is doing some research into how traffic flows.

Another possibility is that you are working on simulating the pavement of a road, and how it deteriorates under traffic. There are various ways to construct a road and knowing when potholes will develop and when road repairs will likely be necessary might be useful. In that case the first step is also to research how roads deteriorate.

I can also imagine you might be wanting to simulate how a racing car can drive along a road. You might want to know something about maximum speeds and find the places on course with the greatest danger of losing control. In that case you need to know about the physics of racing cars.

i think it's a big thing...you are doing..You have to think lots of think when you are making simulator for road design.

For gui 2d and 3d objects(Like car,road,vehicle-heavy and normal,lanes,traffic signals) you need.

Also so many data configurations is also required as which lane has capacity of how many vehicles,what is the maximum/minimum vehicle speed for that lane,traffic signal change at every how much minute...and so on..?