Hi all,

i'm very new in this programming world..so i hope i can get some help here to understand more about C#.
my task is to extract out the data from specific column and row in text file. i do found 1 post from this from regarding this matter..but there is one part that i didn't understand so i hope u guyz can help me out. Capture3

hope this is the right question to asked. i really2 new in this..

thx in advance.

-nik-

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

First off you should use copy and paste to insert your code, instead of a picture. That way someone can copy your code and make adjustments, without having to type the whole thing.

The line 2 should probably use the EOF constant, instead of null

Your string variables should be after line 17 and url is already a string, so it's redundant to use the ToString() method. All of that, lines 13-18, should go in the brackets at line 8

Do the lines in your text file, all contain the same number of words?

hi all..

it has been awhile..sorry for the inconvenience..

thx for the reply..i try to use the solution provided, but it doesn't seem to work..maybe because i made a mistake..but dont know where..

here are the code:

StreamReader tr = new StreamReader("C:\\Floor Schedule3.txt");

string line = tr.ReadLine();
int curLine = 0;

while (line != null)
{
    curLine++
    if (curLine == 0)
      {                         
        string name = line.Split('\t')[0];
        string url = line.Split('\t')[1];
        string desc = line.Split('\t')[2];

line = reader.ReadLine();
        TextBox1.Text = url.ToString();
      }
}

the attachment is the text file sample that i use.

Thx in advance.

-Nik-