Hello,

I'm still learning C++, and I have a question that I'm not even sure how to search for it, so sorry if this is a repeat.

The thing is that I'm trying to make, for a project a-for lack of a better word-memory manager. I want to have kind of a "database" or something of all "actors", but I want to be able to ask for things like:
"I want all actors that are of type SOMETYPE and intersect SOMECONVEX and that have SOMEFLAG set". And of course, it would be great if the actors would be dynamic_cast down to SOMETYPE, since I use a lot of inheritance.

Of course, sometimes I'll want ALL actors, and sometimes I'll want all actors of SOMETYPE that have SOMEFLAG, but not care about what they intersect and so on.

What would be a clean (probably using templates?) way to design such a system? Or if it's already designed, like a "database" or something like that, where would I find something simple?

I can see a very ugly way to design this, which is to save a bunch of different list<Actor> and list<SomeDeriveClass> and so on, and have a ton of different functions.

Is there a clean way?

Anyway, thanks for any advice.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Is this operation being performed on Actors only? Do you have a list of Actors available to apply the filtering?

Yes, of course, I have a list of Actor's, but some of them are actually derived classes (actually, all of them, since Actor is an abstract class). They have different flags and types, and I want a clean interface. For example, I want to be able to do:
ActorManager::GiveMeAllActorsOfTypeMobileWithFlagDead() and it should return a list<Mobile
>, which is a derived class of Actor*.

What about a filtered iterator?

Here is what I mean:

template <typename BaseIterator, typename OutputType>
struct ActorIteratorImpl {
  public:
    // the set of required typedefs:
    typedef ActorIteratorImpl<BaseIterator,OutputType> self;
    typedef OutputType* value_type;
    typedef OutputType* const & reference;