reason behind gaining popularity of c++ over other programming languages

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

C++ is the C language with objects (classes, methods, etc). C is often considered a high-level assembler language, able to control the system at a fundamental level. Compilers will turn C/C++ code into very efficient machine (binary) language. So part of the popularity of C++ is its efficiency (speed and code size), its ability to reflect complex class structures that would not be feasible with the C language, its ability to integrate with legacy C code, and its ubiquitous availability for just about every processor architecture and operating system out there. FWIW, I've been using many languages for over 30 years, but my main languages are C (since 1982) and C++ (since 1992). I also code in Java (C++ with training wheels) as well as numerous scripting languages.

I like your description of java rubberman. I fell the same way.