Hi I am trying to fill a combobox with the files from a FileListBox the code i am using is

Private Sub Form_Load()

File1.Path "C:\Images"
File1.Refresh

If File1.ListCount > 0 Then

For i = File1.ListCount To -1
      Combo1.AddItem File1.List(i)
    Next
End If

End Sub

The FileListBox fills with the file from the folder that i want but the Combo Box doesn't come somebody give me some help with this please I think that the problem is with this line For i = File1.ListCount To -1

Alan

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Try changing your for loop from a reverse count to a normal count:

Private Sub Form_Load()
File1.Path = "C:\Images"
File1.Refresh

If File1.ListCount > 0 Then

For i = 0 To File1.ListCount - 1
    Next
End If
End Sub

HI Comatose

Thanks that worked I am new to VB but am learning everyday can you explain to me why reversing it worked or even why it didnt work in the first place

Thanks

Technically, you could have "gone the other way", but when doing a for loop, it's default behavior is to count up. So, behind the scenes there is a test condition being applied to the for loop.... for example: for I = 0 to 9 is going to say "ok, is I less than 9" if the answer is yes, then do the stuff between for and next. Then, it's going to Add 1 to I, and say "ok, I is 1 [then 2 and 3, etc, etc], is it less than 9?" It will continue this process until I becomes 9. When you say: for I = 10 to 1 , the programming language isn't going to change it's behavior, just because you decided to change the numbers.... so, dutifully, it says: "ok, I is 10 right off the bat, is I (10) less than 1 (or -1 or whatever)". Naturally, 10 is not less than 1 or negative 1.... or even 9, so the for loop never actually even runs once. It just compares, sees that 10 is not less than -1, and says screw it, and moves on.