Hello,

I have to submit a makefile along with my source code for a project in my data structures class. I have never done this before, so I had to do a lot of Googling. Needless to say, I have successfully created a makefile and ran it, but I have found something strange. I am running on a Windows 7 machine, and using a g++ compiler. I downloaded the necessary program so that MinGW will run makefiles. However, only one variation of the commands work. I go to the directory I want and type "mingw32-make", then an error pops up saying "mingw32-make: **** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop. But if I type "mingw32-make -f <filename.extension>" and hit enter, it works. Even though I have it working, it kind of concerns me that only one of the commands work. My professor will be compiling this in a Linux environment, and I would not like it to not compile because my makefile is somehow messed up. Are there any ideas why it is doing this? And just a side note, my makefile is a txt file named Makefile if that helps. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

When you say it's a textfile named Makefile, do you mean it is named Makefile or Makefile.txt ?

Makefile.txt

What happens if you rename it Makefile ? make looks for a file named Makefile but it does not look for one named Makefile.txt

Windows has a nasty habit of not telling you the extension. The fact that it can tell you (on the right there) that one file is a cpp file and one a text file, when of course there is no difference between the file types of a cpp file and a plain text file, suggests that it is called Makefile.txt and windows is hiding that from you.

Is there supposed to be a special extension for the makefile?

No. There is supposed to be no extension.