Hi everyone, I'm new in vb.Net programming and i just want to ask how to validate a "Double" data type.
for example.

Dim number as Double

number = textbox1.text

If the value of "number" variable is in "Double" data type like 1.23 or 0.12
it returns a correct value and If the value of of a "number" is like ... or ..
it returns an error

Conversion from string "." to type 'Double' is not valid.

I tried to suppres the error using the try catch but it still return the same error

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Did you try to replace the decimal point by a comma?

hi ddanbe.

No sir I didn't replace the decimal point by a comma. there is a different between comma(,) and dot(.) in checking a "Double" data type.
I trying to input this wrong value for the "Double" data type.

0.123.456 - this is wrong

This value is no longer "Double" data type. purpose is Im trying to solve this bug if the user input a wrong value or format.

0.123456 - this is right

Don't really get what you are trying to achieve here. If your textbox contains things like "..." and you try to convert that to a double, you will get an error. You could try to intercept the keys that get pressed and only allow one decimal point. Look here for info.

Here is the solution to your problem. First, to solve the conundrum presented by DDanbe, you need to use a MaskedTextbox and set a custom mask using as many numbers and you want on the left then a decimal point and then as many as you want on the right. If you don't know how to do this then look it up. Next you have to parse the input from string to strings to numbers to number like so:

Notably, the code is ugly because I wrote it fast for an example, but it works (and that's what matters). Check it out and it will show you how to parse input to validate that you have a double and then use that double in some way (I used a msgbox to display it). Anyway, hope this helps.