I'm hoping this is the right place to get some expert advice on putting an app together.

I have a Beaglebone Black (BBB, a credit card sized Linux platform) that collects bursts of sensor data. Even though I'm relatively new to Linux, I'm pretty comfortable with the data collection end of the application. But I want to give people nearby access to the data displayed as a line chart along with some additional calculations.

My current thinking is that I'll run a server on the BBB that users can browse to using a PC, tablet, or smart phone, that provides the display. This is where my experience comes up short and I need your help. What is the best way to get the graphs and other data to possibly 6-8 users while minimizing resource usage in the BBB?

Should I use Google's Chart Gallery, Bootstrap, or ??? I look forward to learning some new (to me) technology, but I need to get a working prototype together pretty quickly and don't want to wade through a month of mistakes. Can anyone weigh in on what options I have and what the tradeoffs are?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I've had tremendous success using a bit of a cheat - I have a Python script that fires and generates HTML pages that are served on a Raspberry Pi (very similar to your setup) that includes JSON data required to draw charts with http://www.chartjs.org/ - This job fires every few minutes, and I have an auto-refresh directive on the pages, so they reload automatically with the new data every minute, creating quite a neat, ever-updating effect.

All I do is I overwrite the HTML file(s) in the standard Apache web-server, providing me with a simple and effective way of sharing information with users.

@Ewald - I'm pretty shallow on Python, javascript, and have only a little experience with Apache running on a RPi, but what you describe sounds like a nearly perfect fit. Charts.org is a gem that I hadn't seen before.