Write a program that tests a string is accepted or rejected according to a certain Finite State Machine (FSM).

The program must read the FSM before testing the input string.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

What have you tried so far?

Even if we wanted to help at this point we would be unable. What format is the FSM in, for example? To properly read and build a FSM in memory is a non-trivial task so you need to provide some more detail (and evidence that you've tried something yourself).

I've been writing FSM execution engines for 25+ years. These have been used to parse computer languages, implement TCP/IP protocols, and implement generic terminal emulation programs. What do YOU know about finite-state machines? How would you approach the problem (at a high level)?

rubberman and L7Sqr, thanks for yours' reply
Mr. rubberman the program is concerned with programming language only like C++

As I explained in my previous response, what you are trying to write is a lexical analyzer. I gave links to some helpful posts and resources in that post that you should have gone over by now.

No one here is going to write this program for you. We can only guide you in this project; we cannot and will not help you cheat on it by doing it for you. Please show us what you have done so far so we can give you advice, otherwise there isn't much we can do.