I am new to programming and picked up the following book by microsoft. I am taking Computer Science in college and would love to know if this is the correct step. I am very interested in how computer language works and wantto get into this a lot more. I've read countless articles on the net and ever went as far as asking what other people prefer as far as whats a good basic language to start with.

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

C# is a nice language -- if you already know C++. As a first language I think c++ could be easier and faster to learn then C#. If you have never learned a programming language before there are lots of concepts that C# assumes you know. An intro course in either C or C++ will give you a good background before delving into C#.

N.Wirth developed the language Pascal in the seventies (previous century) for learning how to program.You should have a look at it, but then move on to a C-style language as AD says. My personal favorite is C#, but as a beginner, start of with C. Two other languages worth considering are Java and Python.

Well I just spent 50$ on that book for C#, roughly how long should I spend on C or C++? Also what program should I use for C or C++? I get Visual Studio Pro since I am in school.

I would advice not to go to c or c++. I did that when I was at college. I picked a advanced c++ book and started learning some easy algorithms(I realised that i could have done that with c#). C# (Console Aplication) is where you should start and you ll find it pretty interesting believe me. Just go with c# for the time being and then switch to c or c++ or any other language, but I think you'll come back to c# when you see how Sweeter it is.