I'm working on a C++ program to convert MPH to minutes and seconds.

I'm stuck.

This is my code so far.

It runs, but when I key a value (i.e. 6.5), the program crashes and stalls.

What I am overlooking?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Here is the code.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int miles_per_hour, mins, secs, M, Y;
    {
        cout << "What is the miles per hour? ";
        cin >> miles_per_hour;
    }
        M = miles_per_hour;
        Y = (1 / 60) * M;
        mins = (int)(1 / Y);
        secs = (int)((1 / Y) - M * 60);
    {
        cout << "The pace is " << mins << "minutes" << "and" << secs << "seconds";
    }
    return 0;
}

Welp. An int can only hold integers. So, can you guess what happens when Y = (1 / 60) * M runs? What about lines 17 and 18.

Use doubles instead, and see what happens.

I apologize. I'm new to coding.

I changed it to double mins, sec, M, Y

When I debug, it appears to run asks me to input (I key 6.5), but after that it ends with no output.

Asides from using double, how does the rest of the code look?

Am I missing some variable regarding the double & divison?

Don't apologize. Making mistakes is not against any rule, and we've all been there before.

It would be nice to see your new code. Here's a few things to remember though. Remover all of your (int) casts. Also, remember that 1 / 60 = 0 in c++. You might want to try out (1.0 / 60), and see what happens.

Take a look at your math too. It is impossible to convert MPH to minutes and seconds. MPH is distance/time, where as minutes and seconds are just time.

Given a speed and a distance you can calculate time though.

I tried the following.

int main()
Inline Code Example Here

{

double miles_per_hour, mins, secs, M, Y;
{
    cout << "What is the miles per hour? ";
    cin >> miles_per_hour;
}   
    M = miles_per_hour;
    Y = (1.0 / 60) * M;
    mins = (double)(1 / Y);
    secs = (double)((1 / Y) - M * 60);
{