As a beginner at programming, I have been programming with OO languages for 3 years and I can not really imaging programming in a non OO environment so I have a few questions:

1. Is there any advantage using procedural than oo?
  2. What kind of programmes do you write with procedural languages that do not require objects?
  3. What can procedual languages do for us that OO languages cannot?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Here is an intersting article about ColdFusion which started as a procedural language and then integrated OO capabilities. The arguments for OO or procedural typically relate to which language you first learned.
Click Here

Member Avatar for diafol

Having learned procedural, it was really difficult to get my head around OO. Still having problems! Having said that, some languages like php don't always need the robustness of OO in every situation. Depends on the complexity of the site. If you can get away with the odd function of two, well great. However, as sites develop, I often find myself resorting to classes when I didn't think I'd need them. It's just a different way of doing things, appleas and pears (IMO). I think we all know the advantages of OO, but sometimes it can be overkill (again IMO).

1. Is there any advantage using procedural than oo?

Advantages of procedural programming mostly boil down to simplicity. For one, a typical procedural program is just a straight-forward sequence of function calls and statements, which, if done well, are very clear and with no hidden behaviors like constructors, stateful function calls, etc... Basically, when a problem is simple, a simple approach is better, naturally. I have seen far too often people construct elaborate OOP class hierarchies to solve trivial problems, in total overkill fashion.