Hi, i'm new to java, can someone help to solve this question:

In Wonderland a man distribute his monthly salary among his family as follows:
• Half the salary goes on general expenditure in the house
• one third of the remainder is spent on his car
• Out of the rest, one third is saved while the remaining part is shared among members of the family so that parents get twice as much as the children.
Write a program that allows you to input the salary of a person and the number of children he has and output the pocket money obtained by one of the parents and one child.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

There are lots of people here who will freely give their time to help you become the best Java programmer you can be. There's nobody here who is interested in helping you cheat or doing your homework for you.

DaniWeb Member Rules (which you agreed to when you signed up) include:
"Do provide evidence of having done some work yourself if posting questions from school or work assignments"
http://www.daniweb.com/community/rules

Post what you have done so far and someone will help you from there.

double salary;
    String children;

Scanner in = new Scanner(System.in);

System.out.println("Enter Salary:");
    salary = in.nextInt();

System.out.println("Enter number of children:");
    children = in.nextLine();

How should I process with the calculation??

You are missing so much that I don't knw where to start...
Re-visit your first "hello world" program and see what pieces you are missing.
Do you really not know how to claculate a variable as one half of another variable?

This is really not a Java question. It is an algebra question, and we are being asked to represent the answer with Java code.

I recommend we start by forgetting about Java and just try to understand the question. If we can't solve it, how can we teach the computer to solve it?

We are being asked to: