Hello , I am new at programming, and I need help with a simple VB.NET application I'm working on.

The trouble I'm having is, I need to populate a combobox with all the table names from one specific database, so that the user can select which database table to work with. once i select specific table from combobox.. the fields of table shd disply in list box.. how can i do this sir...??plz help me to solve this

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Welcome sumas.
Members are here not to do your home work they are to help you. Please post your codes how far you did.

To get the table names depends on your database. For MSSQL you can do

SELECT TABLE_NAME 
  FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.TABLES
 WHERE TABLE_TYPE = 'BASE TABLE'

or

SELECT name from sys.tables

I think for MySQL it is

SELECT TABLE_NAME 
  FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.TABLES
 WHERE TABLE_TYPE = 'BASE TABLE' AND TABLE_SCHEMA='dbName'

As I understand it, you're wondering how the actual .net code looks like? You're also not specifying what database you're using, but in my example below, I'm assuming Access, database located in c:\temp..

To have the combo box populated (cboTables), I would put the following code in the forms Load event (no fault handling, but you will need to insert that too, ie if the database does not exist etc) :

'Create a connection object using OleDB
Dim conn As New OleDb.OleDbConnection
'Create a connection string for an Access database
Dim strConnectionString ="Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=C:\temp\Database1.accdb"

'Attach the connection string to the connection object
conn.ConnectionString = strConnectionString
'Open the connection
conn.Open()

'Create a DataTable object for holding database information
Dim schemaTable As DataTable = conn.GetOleDbSchemaTable(OleDbSchemaGuid.Tables, New Object() {Nothing, Nothing, Nothing, "TABLE"})

'Loop through the rows in the databases schema and retrieve table names and add them to the combo box
For Each dr As DataRow In schemaTable.Rows