Hello all,

I'm hoping this is related enough to python to merit being posted here. I'm hoping someone will possibly have a better way of doing it altogether.

I'm using tetgen to try to create a hollow dome. I was using triangle and then just triangulating a circle and raising the z values according to the equation z = sqrt(abs(r^2 - x^2 - y^2)) but I was getting very bad stretching near the edges.

So I would like to just generate a bunch of points of this dome and then mesh it without filling it in. Tetgen basically does this for me by giving the .node and .faces file, but the problem is I'm still getting a bottom and I'm not sure how to get rid of it. I'm pretty new to tetgen and meshpy, so if anyone could give me a work flow for this I would greatly appreciate. The answer might actually be very easy.

For example, I am able to create the points around the bottom of the circle with a simple function:

def gen_pts_on_circle(num_pts, radius):
    pnts = []
    theta = 360.0 / num_pts

# loop through circle using theta for point placement
    for i in np.arange(0, 360, theta):
        x = radius * np.cos(np.radians(i))
        y = radius * np.sin(np.radians(i))
        z = 0.0
        pnts.append((x,y,z))
     return np.array(pnts)

Then I generate random points on the dome by using the function:

def gen_random_pts(num_pts, radius): 
    pts = []
    for i in xrange(num_pts):
        q = np.random.random() * (np.pi * 2.0)
        r = np.sqrt(np.random.random())
        x = (radius * r) * np.cos(q)
        y = (radius * r) * np.sin(q) 
        # Just the sphere equation with abs value to make a dome
        z = np.sqrt(abs(r**2 - x**2 - y**2))
        pts.append((x,y,z))
    return np.array(pts)

Then I simply just slap the header from a .node file and run tetgen to get the .face file. The only problem with this approach is the bottom is there when I need it to be an open dome.