I've created the following series of If statements that are totally disfunctional. I'm thinking it has to do with my lack of understanding between a function and a statement. (I'm an old mainframe programmer and sometimes have difficulties crossing over)
Even though when I do a watch on the fields, the values are what I expect, the if statement doesn't perform the Then... and the Else on the 3rd errors out.

Here's the code I'm trying to get working:

Public Function Getareaname(flname As String) As String
Dim fposn As Long, i As Integer
    Dim fName As String
    Dim tmpname As String
fName = "d:\getarea"
    fposn = 11
    For i = 1 To Len(flname)
        If Mid(flname, i, 2) = "//" Then GoTo skipnext
        If Mid(flname, i, 2) = "u:" Then GoTo skiplev
        If Mid(flname, i, 1) = "/" Then Mid(fName, fposn, 1) = "\" Else: Mid(fName, fposn, 1) = Mid(flname, i)
        fposn = fposn + 1
skipnext:
    Next i
    Getareaname = fName

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I've created the following series of If statements that are totally disfunctional. I'm thinking it has to do with my lack of understanding between a function and a statement. (I'm an old mainframe programmer and sometimes have difficulties crossing over)
Even though when I do a watch on the fields, the values are what I expect, the if statement doesn't perform the Then... and the Else on the 3rd errors out.

I see 3 if statements. Can you be less vague? The way you phrased this you could be talking about eny one of them. And what does errors out mean?

... Mid(fName, fposn, 1) = Mid(flname, i)

Are you trying to load multiple characters into one character here? I'm not sure but I believe you might need to rethink this command.

Thank you for responding.

I see 3 if statements. Can you be less vague? The way you phrased this you could be talking about eny one of them. And what does errors out mean?