Hi

I am trying to figure out how to do something for a program I am writing I am fairly new to C++ I have only been using it for about 3 months.

Basically I want to launch a pthread which is easy enough but from within that thread I want to launch a perl script, I don't want the perl embedded, something like:

exec("/usr/local/bin/perl", "sqldaemon.pl", "/var/log/error");

kind of thing, the "sqldaemon.pl" and "/var/log/error" sections being arguements to be passed to the script.

I have gone through my books but I can't find any reference on how to launch an external application, this application will also be running in a daemon mode and wont terminate until the main program exits, which is why it is launched from a thread instead of from the main program.

Any help on the correct syntax for launching external applications with arguements would be appreciated.

Thanks

Ben

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

if you call an exec() function from a thread, the entire process will be replaced by the program u call, not just the single thread of execution. exec'ing replaces the entire address space of a process with the application being executed. what u want to do is fork() off a child and have the child exec(). using the exec functions can be a bit tricky, but if u read the man pages carefully it makes sense. 'man execve'. here is a short summary tho:

using execve() means u have to provide an array of pointers(NULL terminated) for the arguments to the prog and for the enviromental variables. usage would be:

char  *args[] = {"ls", "-al", NULL}, *env[] = {NULL};
  execve("/bin/ls", args, env);

the 'v' stands for Vector, as in a vector of pointers for args/env, and the 'e' stands for enviroment, since u include the enviromental variables.

using the execl() function, u can provide a list of arguments instead, usage:

execl("/bin/ls", "ls", "-al", NULL);