I'm completely new to C++, and my teacher gave us a card game to do for our first assignment. The card game has to deal a hand of five cards and determine whether or not it contains a flush, a pair, a straight, three of a kind, or four of a kind. I think I got it to deal the hand right, but I am completely lost on how to do the other methods. Could somebody please give me a hint as to how to start the methods? I'm not asking anyone to do my homework. I just need help with starting one of the methods. I think that if somebody helped me with one, I could do the rest. Any help would be greatly appreciated, because I am panicking! Thanks in advance!

// Member-function definitions for class DeckOfCards that simulates
// the shuffling and dealing of a deck of playing cards.
#include <iostream>
using std::cout;
using std::left;
using std::right;
#include <iomanip>
using std::setw;
#include <cstdlib> // prototypes for rand and srand
using std::rand;
using std::srand;
#include <ctime> // prototype for time
using std::time;
#include "DeckOfCards.h" // DeckOfCards class definition
// DeckOfCards default constructor initializes deck
DeckOfCards::DeckOfCards()
{
   // loop through rows of deck
   for ( int row = 0; row <= 3; row++ )
   {
      // loop through columns of deck for current row
      for ( int column = 0; column <= 12; column++ )
      {
         deck[ row ][ column ] = 0; // initialize slot of deck to 0
      } // end inner for
   } // end outer for

srand( time( 0 ) ); // seed random number generator
} // end DeckOfCards default constructor
// shuffle cards in deck
void DeckOfCards::shuffle()
{
   int row; // represents suit value of card
   int column; // represents face value of card
   // for each of the 52 cards, choose a slot of the deck randomly
   for ( int card = 1; card <= 52; card++ ) 
   {
      do // choose a new random location until unoccupied slot is found
      {
         row = rand() % 4; // randomly select the row