Hi yall,

Absolute C++ newbie here.

I would like to know how to prompt a user to enter yes or no, and then display a different msg depending on whether y or n was pressed. I am trying to set char y=1 or true and char n=0 or false. But then I am stuck at how to compare the input variable to y and n. Right now, this bad code only makes the program display the "yes" message no matter what key is pressed. Can anyone please gimme some tips? Thank you very much.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
void main ()
{char y,
n,
x;
y=1;
n=0;

cout<<"\nPlease enter either y or n\n";
cin>>x;
if (x=1)
cout <<"you pressed yes\n";
else
cout <<"you pressed no\n";
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Please read this thread about how to post code inside code tags so that spaces and tabs are preserved. There are also other helpful threads for newbes at the top of this board that contain links to other useful information.

Thank you, and welcome to DaniWeb:)

Okay... Well... >.<

Seems like you just started learning a few days... maybe one or two? Unless you're learning by yourself. Heh. I'm no pro (I just started a few weeks ago) but if you're following a class, I reccommend learning by them until you feel comftorable enough to surpass what is being taught... Anyway...

do something like
char choice;
cout << "Please enter either Y or N.";
cin >> choice;
if (choice=='Y')
cout << "\nYou entered Yes.";
if (choice=="N')
cout << "\nYou entered No.";
return 0;
}
But then again, this is very basic, and if you want, you can go google up things like iostream/c++ guide... its best if you have a textbook to follow by, and then search the internet for when you can't find it from reference.

I am taking a university C++ class, but this is my very first attempt to write a program on my own.

Thanks again. That makes sense. I didn't realize I could set the IF condition to make the input equal to a char. Thought it had to be an int value.