Hi, I'm relatively new to socket programming in C/C++ but i have read a few tutorials and had a good go at trying to do it. I have got to the point where i have created a kind server that will accept incoming connections and then when the data is recieved, it will display a message box containing the data it recieved as a string.

Server code:

#include <winsock.h>
#include <windows.h>

void LastError(LPTSTR lpszFunction) 
{ 
    LPVOID lpMsgBuf;
    LPVOID lpDisplayBuf;

DWORD dw = GetLastError(); 

FormatMessage(
        FORMAT_MESSAGE_ALLOCATE_BUFFER | 
        FORMAT_MESSAGE_FROM_SYSTEM,
        NULL,
        dw,
        MAKELANGID(LANG_NEUTRAL, SUBLANG_DEFAULT),
        (LPTSTR) &lpMsgBuf,
        0, NULL );

lpDisplayBuf = (LPVOID)LocalAlloc(LMEM_ZEROINIT, 
        (lstrlen((LPCTSTR)lpMsgBuf)+lstrlen((LPCTSTR)lpszFunction)+40)*sizeof(TCHAR)); 
    wsprintf((LPTSTR)lpDisplayBuf, 
        TEXT("%s failed with error %d: %s"), 
        lpszFunction, dw, lpMsgBuf); 
    MessageBox(NULL, (LPCTSTR)lpDisplayBuf, TEXT("Message Server"), MB_OK); 

LocalFree(lpMsgBuf);
    LocalFree(lpDisplayBuf);
}

HWND hwnd; //this will later be used for the window handle when the interface is implemented
char * ipaddress; //Temp variable, not yet used...

int main ()
{
    WSADATA wsaData;
    if (WSAStartup(MAKEWORD(1, 1), &wsaData) != 0) 
    {
        LastError("WSAStartup()");
        exit(1);
    }

SOCKET listeningSocket;
    listeningSocket = socket(AF_INET, SOCK_STREAM, IPPROTO_TCP);
    if (listeningSocket == INVALID_SOCKET)
    {
        LastError("socket()");
        exit(1);
    }

SOCKADDR_IN serverInfo;
    serverInfo.sin_family = AF_INET;
    serverInfo.sin_addr.s_addr = INADDR_ANY;
    serverInfo.sin_port = htons(1243);

int ret = bind(listeningSocket, (LPSOCKADDR)&serverInfo, sizeof(struct sockaddr));
    if (ret == SOCKET_ERROR)
    {
        LastError("bind()");
        exit(1);
    }

ret = listen(listeningSocket,1);
    if (ret == SOCKET_ERROR)
    {