Well I have looked around the forums. But I cant find the answer to my question. It has been asked many a time. Im a complete novice to the world of programming (I am, lololol) I am trying to decide which path to go down, c, c++, vb, etc. Please someone tell which would be the best language for someone in my position to start with. What would be the best platform to start on and progress from. I was thinking along the lines of c or c++?
Any feedback would be great.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Hmm well, I'm not sure where you would start. But I started off with VB 6.0, but I dunno... other people here would be more knowledgable on this topic than I would

i hate making decisions for people but in my opinion do c++... its good... so just do it...

Yup, C++ is the best to start out of the langs you mentioned. try www.google.com and search for tutorials.

If you have no experiance what so ever QBASIC is also somewhere to start.

For C++ you will need a complier and the best free easy one for a new user would be DevC++

www.bloodshed.net/dev/devcpp.html

Yup, C++ would be the best to start.........

Yeah that was my thought. That or C.

Hello,

C++ or Pascal. I loved Pascal.

VB will limit you to a Microsoft platform.

Normal C is a dangerous language with pointers, and the specifications on print formatting, such as

printf(year,day,month%d%d%d);

instead of C++

cout << year,day,month;

Christian

Programming languages are all fundamentally equivalent; try a few and pick the one that makes the most sense to you. As far as which one that might be, here's my $0.02:

BASIC was designed to be a beginner's language (that's what the B is for). VB has outgrown that purpose somewhat, but is still a decent spot to start. It's especially useful if you're interested in customizing the behavior of MS Office products.