Hey, I'm really new to programming and I was wondering how you open a form after pressing a button. Such as, there is a button saying "Start", which, once clicked opens up a guessing game. I know it's probably a one line code but I can't find it anywhere on the internet.

Thanks;),

Jordan

P.S. If anyone knows of any new persons tutorals could you please tell me.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

in order to open a new form, first you must to have 2 forms.
to open a form when you click a button, you must put the following code on the button click event :
"form2.show;"

try to search on google some delphi begginers tutorial or even better go and buy a delphi book in order to learn delphi:cheesy:

best regards,

Thanks, as for the tutorials, I have looked on google and the books are expensive where I live and I'm not buying them online.

Thanks again,

Jordan Jarvis

probably today i will make a new thread with links to some tutorals.

best regards,

Books are cheap. What you learn from a decent book costing $40 will earn itself back many times over in the space of a few days work.

i'm agree with you, but if somebody doesn't know nothing about delphi, programming, algorithms, etc then i suggest to buy a book, sometimes you find there some good guidelines.

best regards,

I've been learning from... "Inside Delphi 2006". Not a bad book. I would prefer it if it just stuck to Delphi... It also covers C++ Builder so that you learn Delphi and C++ Builder at the same time.

JJarvis, good luck with your learning.

Eddie

Eddie, it's always good to learn about things from different perspectives.
One of the best books I have has examples in Java, C++, and Python.
When I got the book I didn't know Python and hadn't used C++ in years, but that should be no problem understanding what the author is trying to tell. In fact it is a good thing as it enables him to get his point across in the best way possible even if any given language is less than perfect for doing so.