Hi all,

I am new to windows programming. I am currently using Delphi. Is there a way to tell how much total memory (including virtual memory) is currently available on a computer.

As far as I am aware... Delphi programs start out automatically with an address space of 1 or 2 megs but more memory is automatically made available as needed by the program up until the point where the computer runs out of virtual memory.

So basically the question is...

Is there a delphi function or a win32 function that returns the amount of virtual memory that is currently available.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Eddie

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Ancient Dragon, thank you so much for your response. I'll have to go away and read up about the function and the SYSTEM_INFO structure that it uses.

I'll confess that at this point, I don't know how to turn the results from a populated SYSTEM_INFO structure into the data I am looking for (i.e. is it related to the page size or the minimum and maximum application addresses. I'll see if I can figure it out. Thank you so much for pointing me in the right direction. If you could be even a bit more explicit as to how to use the SYSTEM_INFO to get an Integer or Long (or Int64 or whatever) that reflects how much virtual memory can still be assigned to running programs, I would definitely appreciate the extra help. In the mean time... I'll try and figure it out.

Thanks once again.

Eddie

To retrieve the current memory status, you can use the GlobalMemoryStatus() function. The TMemoryStatus contains several fields indicating the status of the memory: .dwMemoryLoad: Total memory used in percentage (%)
. .dwTotalPhys: Total physical memory in bytes.
.dwAvailPhys: Physical memory left in bytes.
.dwTotalPageFile: Total page file in bytes.
.dwAvailPageFile:Page file left in bytes.
.dwTotalVirtual: Total virtual memory in bytes.
.dwAvailVirtual: Virtual memory left in bytes.