Thank for most who helped me to find out random fun before..
I am new to programming .. I just writing simple twenty one game..
Now my random out is like that ... k 5 6 q j .. mix char and int together randomly.. it might be suck..! now i want to add evth together to get some value (number) for twenty one game..BUT what i want is to set char with numerial value... like 'k'is 10. for example.. k +5 , the result be 17 etc.. how can set char with numberial value..here is some of my simple code..:lol:

int compcard=3,urcard;//urtotal=0,comptotal=0;
    int num;
    string randomChar = "kqja";
    srand( (unsigned int)time( 0 ) );
    cout<<"u want ?"<<endl;
    cin>>urcard;
    for ( int i = 0; i < urcard; i++ ) {
        if ( rand() < RAND_MAX / 2 )
//in real, ur total .. have to put.. urtotal+=.....
         cout << rand() % 10 + 1 << '\n';
        else
        cout << randomChar[rand() % randomChar.length()]   <<endl;
}
    }

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

There's a whole load of ways you can do this - depending on the way the rest of your program works, one way you could achieve this would be to set some constants, eg,

const int ace = 1;
const int jack = 10;
const int queen = 10;
const int king = 10;

Another way may be a lookup table where you associate characters with values, and search through that to find the match.

Hi,
Thank for you help.
You meant I have to create linked lists and use searching ..that certain character is already in output.. if true .. set it to concerning value?
Or use vector?
Coz I am not sure how to do it..

Hi,
Thank for you help.
You meant I have to create linked lists and use searching ..that certain character is already in output.. if true .. set it to concerning value?
Or use vector?
Coz I am not sure how to do it..

You could also use the string which is already a part of your program - the position of each character in that string can act as an index reference for a table of card values - eg,

const std::string ranks("ajqk");