I have an event handler for the Leave event of a text box, that checks that the user has entered an invalid value. It displays a message and tells the user that the value entered is wrong.

But here's the trouble: after if displays the message, it still allows the user to move on to another control. How do I force the focus back on that textbox so that the Leave event keeps invoking until the user gets it right?

Another thing. I'm still new to C#, and I would like to know if there is some way I can check the contents of that text box to make sure that are all alpha-numeric (ie, only "0123456789" allowed)

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

You could set all the other event handlers to be disabled... set the focus back on the text box.

I'm still new to C#, and I would like to know if there is some way I can check the contents of that text box to make sure that are all alpha-numeric (ie, only "0123456789" allowed)

You know what an if statement is?

Uh sure I know what if statements are but I'm still lost...

Well the way I'd do it is to loop through the string, which is what you textBox will be.

And check if each character is "0123456789".

I guess you could use the substring function to isolate each character.

yeah i thought about that, was just wondering ifn there was some built-in method that could do it for me xP.

Thanks though

I don't think there is a built in function which will 100% validate all entries.

actually, there is. why not use the KeyPress event?

add the following as an event of your textbox. (i have added the possibility for a 'space' or the use of 'backspace' for educational purposes - so you can see how it workd and edit it to the way you like.

private void myTextBox_KeyPress(object sender, KeyPressEventArgs e)
        {
            char key = e.KeyChar;
            if (((key < '0') || (key > '9')) && (key != '\b') && (key != ' '))
                e.Handled = true;
        }

hope this helped