I'm a beginner so pls bear with me. Try to make your explanations as simple as possible. The program i'm going to make will be like this: the user enters the customer name, the items ordered by the customer, the quantity of those items, and their prices. Here are my questions:

1. Do I really need to build and incorporate databases from softwares like Access to my VB program? Or are there other alternatives? Because I don't like my program to be dependent on other software.

2. I'm sure you experts are familiar with Clipper. It doesn't rely on databases created from other software (I think). Is this possible with VB6? How do I do it then? By using random access files (.rnd)?

3. If I use .rnd files, can I still use the ADO Data Control, Datalist, DataGrid and DataCombo controls of VB6?

That's it for now. Pls help me!! I already know the basics of VB, I just need to know the best and simplest approach in creating the program I stated above. Thanks a bunch!!!!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I'm a beginner so pls bear with me. Try to make your explanations as simple as possible. The program i'm going to make will be like this: the user enters the customer name, the items ordered by the customer, the quantity of those items, and their prices. Here are my questions:

1. Do I really need to build and incorporate databases from softwares like Access to my VB program? Or are there other alternatives? Because I don't like my program to be dependent on other software.

No. Many programs don't need a database at all. Only about 15% of my VB programming used a database. Problem with your idea, though, VB is by definition dependent on 'other software'. Specifically system DLLs, and other support files, as well as the OS itself.

2. I'm sure you experts are familiar with Clipper. It doesn't rely on databases created from other software (I think). Is this possible with VB6? How do I do it then? By using random access files (.rnd)?