How can a Java program be optimized? I have no experience in this thematic so I could use some key words so I acn go deeper into it!
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

There is no specific answer to this question, so I'll give you a general one..
First find out what need to be optimized? For this you can use tools like Rational/IBM Quantify (license issues) or Mocking Framework (in this you'll need to write some code of your own).
Once you know what has to be optimized, you can ask a specific question, then we can write more specific answers. :)

a mocking framework won't tell you what needs optimising.
A profiler may, but not a mock object (if anything it will likely hide the reason for any performance problems).

Most often when people "optimise" code they are just guessing where the problems are, grasping at straws and doing things they once heard someone say would make things faster (and usually they don't of course).

Most often when people "optimise" code they are just guessing where the problems are, grasping at straws and doing things they once heard someone say would make things faster (and usually they don't of course).

Not always true -- well maybe true for beginners who think their code needs optimization for no good reason other than the thing that 'optimization' is a cool word. Take for example String and StringBuffer class in scenarios where appending is frequent. Same thing for Vector and ArrayList.

One should know where to look when it comes for optimization.

I've seen highly experienced people go wrong on "optimisation" when they didn't know the underlying machine instructions being generated (and few people know those).
That was C of course, but in Java deep knowledge is often also needed to get beyond the blatantly obvious stuff.

Things like loop and callstack optimisation aren't all that well known to many people.
SQL optimisation is an especially black art...

a mocking framework won't tell you what needs optimising.